During the Cuban Missile Crisis: If you were Kennedy, how would you have handled the situation with Cuba and the USSR?

11 Apr
72 Responses to “During the Cuban Missile Crisis: If you were Kennedy, how would you have handled the situation with Cuba and the USSR?”

  1. rlinneman April 12, 2013 at 12:15 AM #

    If I was Kennedy during the Cuban Missile Crisis I would have handled the situation with Cuba and the USSR the same. Just as Kennedy did, I would have sent the planes over Cuba to see how many missiles were located there to see what the United States was up against. I would also have wanted peace rather than starting a nuclear war that would have put many lives in danger.

    • lydia April 12, 2013 at 12:55 AM #

      I do agree with you I believe JFK did the right thing

    • Aaliyah Baumann April 12, 2013 at 4:22 AM #

      I agree that JFK did handle the crisis appropriately. But what do you think would have happened if he never went to the United Nations?

  2. lydia April 12, 2013 at 12:43 AM #

    I do agree with you I believe JFK handled it wisely

  3. lydia April 12, 2013 at 12:51 AM #

    I guess if I were JFK I wouldn’t have done anything different from what he did .He made the right decision and it kept innocent lifes alive…

  4. Aaliyah Baumann April 12, 2013 at 4:20 AM #

    If I was Kennedy during the missile crisis, I would have done everything exactly the same. For the sake of trying to keep the peace between America and Cuba, I would have went to the United Nations and presented the pictures that we had took of the missiles. If starting a quarantine without the United Nations okay, there is a more likely chance that we would have went into WWIII. A lot of lives would have been lost. So with the fact that Khrushchev had came to the conclusion of if you do this then we’ll do this kind of deal was smart. But what really kept the peace was the fact that that agreement and every situation that was dealt on the table, was done through the United Nations.

    • Abril Silva April 12, 2013 at 10:38 PM #

      I agree, Kennedy did make the right decisions during the crisis

    • Ameen Sassi April 15, 2013 at 1:05 AM #

      I agree, if they didn’t go through the UN , things would have most likely gotten really hostile, really fast.

    • Vivian Quinn April 17, 2013 at 4:16 AM #

      I agree! The United Nations needed to be involved to create that peace and communication with Cuba. Communication is key

  5. Abril Silva April 12, 2013 at 10:33 PM #

    If I was Kennedy during the Cuban Missile Crisis i would have done everything the same because in the end peace was kept in the United States and if it wouln’t have been done the way he did it, it would have started another world war.

    • Kayla Anderson April 13, 2013 at 9:31 PM #

      That’s interesting. I think in the end he did take appropriate steps to keeping everything calm and secure.

  6. Kayla Anderson April 13, 2013 at 9:28 PM #

    If I were JFK, I would have confronted the source directly. I would have my own weapons and agencies on red alert, and I would make it very clear to Khruschev that I wanted a conference between the two of us. I would try to talk with him calmly, see if we can come to some sort of agreement. If that didn’t work, I would give him an ultimatum; remove the weapons, or there will be dangerous trouble between America and Russia.

  7. Areonna April 14, 2013 at 2:16 AM #

    If i were Kennedy, i would have made the same decision he did by checking the missiles cuba had located and how serious the Cubans were though maybe a little sooner before a situation had gotten to critical, with nuclear weapons.

    • Kristen Aghasharif April 15, 2013 at 1:18 AM #

      I agree. Then the problem wouldn’t had been so risky for everyone. It’s a good thing JFK was delicate with the situation.

    • Elmunzer Babiker April 15, 2013 at 4:56 AM #

      But what if the Cubans were to lie and say everything was fine but then attack behind our back with out saying anything. I also agree that they should’ve checked earlier before the situation but also keep making sure because you never know.

  8. Ameen Sassi April 15, 2013 at 1:02 AM #

    To be honest, I can think of no better way to handle the situation than how JFK handled it. They got the permission of the UN, went through with the blockade, prevented a nuclear war. If it was handled any differently, there would probably be a new chapter in the history books called “World War 3”.

    • Faran Eydi April 15, 2013 at 3:19 AM #

      I agree with you Ameen, but Kennedy’s choice was very risky and it could have went wrong but it was his best choice.

  9. Kristen Aghasharif April 15, 2013 at 1:16 AM #

    Personally, I think JFK handled himself very well. He thought everything through before making a disicion because he knew their were lives in danger. If i was him at the time, I would of taken the same approach as he did to the situation. I wouldn’t let anyone force meto make a discion and I would see what all my choices were first and choose the best one. I think it was for the best to use the blockade.

  10. Faran Eydi April 15, 2013 at 3:17 AM #

    Kennedy made a great choice putting up the blokade for the russians from the entering Cuba. His choice was very risky and it mightve not worked but it was the best choice. If I was Kennedy i wouldve done the same thing because i did not want to go in a war with another counrty who also has nuclear weapons.The only problem i would see in this choice was the fact that the russians could fight back and start another war, his choice was very risky but very intellagent.

    • Mohamed Babiker April 15, 2013 at 4:26 AM #

      I couldn’t have said it better myself

  11. Mohamed Babiker April 15, 2013 at 4:24 AM #

    If i were Kennedy i would have done the same thing he did. There is no good coming out of a nuclear war. However i would also want to have protection over my country, so that’s why i think the blockade was a great idea. I wouldn’t want my country to show any weakness because that’s exactly what gets you killed. The best protection is too get along and i think is the main thing and that’s what I would have done, who would want to hurt a country they like, and could benefit from in the future.

  12. Elmunzer Babiker April 15, 2013 at 4:49 AM #

    If I were in Kennedy’s position i would’ve had the same idea as him of how he handled it. I would of had the same idea because nuclear war would’ve been a really big mistake to the risk of the world and everybody’s life. One thing i would’ve done differently is try to trick Cuba and have Cuba threaten by multiple country so they would get frighten and then us Americans act as if we were gonna be the hero and try to make a deal with Cuba by not having those multiple country’s attack Cuba. Then maybe Cuba would have our trust and think twice and we could be allies.

  13. Diana Mascorro April 15, 2013 at 5:06 AM #

    Diana Mascorro.
    If I were Kennedy I would have done similar to something similar to what he did.However I would have tried to do it in a more discreet way so no one knew the U.S. was coming. But by doing this Kennedy might have just saved the whole world from a nuclear war.

    • Marissa Venegas April 15, 2013 at 1:45 PM #

      That’s true but he admitted to his mistake showing true leadership and then decided to take a less violent route.

  14. hariz April 15, 2013 at 12:51 PM #

    I agree with the way kennedy handled it, he handled it in a peaceful manner rather than declaring war like most of his generals advised. If we did declare war we would have definetly had a nuclear winter and we would not be here to discuss about it.

  15. Marissa Venegas April 15, 2013 at 1:44 PM #

    If I was Kennedy I would have handled the situation the same way for I would have wanted to avoid the violent route and avoid wasting so many lives. I believe that the blockade was the best way to go to not be impulsive and decide with rage.

    • Marissa Venegas April 15, 2013 at 1:49 PM #

      Using the blockade was the reason that they avoided a nuclear war for the soviets did not cross the line and thefore no weapons were fired and a war was avoided.

    • Javier Garcia April 15, 2013 at 1:54 PM #

      Kennedy’s decision was smart and prevented war and deaths. I believe everyone would have done the same.

  16. Javier Garcia April 15, 2013 at 1:52 PM #

    I would’ve considered many different options. My first choice would’ve been to use force but I would most likely end up doing what Kennedy did.

  17. Helen Adane April 15, 2013 at 2:11 PM #

    I would do everything the same way JFK did so the peace could stay between the United States and Cub. If JFK didn’t do it the way he did it would have started another war that was not needed or necessary.

  18. Kenzie Ralph April 15, 2013 at 2:21 PM #

    I would have done what JFK did. He kept the peace and if he would have used force we could have gotten into another war and i dont think we could have handeled it

    • nadiya ali April 15, 2013 at 3:07 PM #

      I agree with you he did the right thing!

  19. NAdiya ALi April 15, 2013 at 3:05 PM #

    If i was JFK i would of handled the situation the same way he did. He saved innocent life’s.

  20. antoria mason April 15, 2013 at 11:36 PM #

    If I was JFK I would have offered a peace treaty that would join Cuba and Russia as Allies. I would give both countries an opportunity to accept the peace treaty 3 times. If for some reason if they were both to deny it I would send planes over Cuba to prove to the united nations that Cuba and Russia could be a threat to the united states and that there reinforcement but in a peaceful matter. I believe that JFK handled the situation in a very responsible way and in a peaceful way.

  21. Ali Torre April 16, 2013 at 5:02 AM #

    I believe JFK made the right choices from ordering the blockade to meetings to surveillance to finally signing the treaty.I would of done what he had done.Everything worked out at the end.He didnt want to put his citizens in danger nor did he want to start a nuclear war. Like he said on his speech ” Our goal is not the victory of might, but the vindication of right; not peace at the expense of freedom, but both peace and freedom”. At the end it was never about who was more powerful but rather than having peace and freedom.

  22. Vivian Quinn April 17, 2013 at 4:14 AM #

    If I were Kennedy during the time of the Cuban missile crisis I would have done the same thing. I believe the blockade was an effective way to keep the United States of of war. I think the boats placed outside of Cuba placed a fear in the Russians that we needed to feel dominant. Being JFK, I agree with him holding fire against USSR because it would have caused a world war that we did not want to be involved in because it would cause nuclear power and lead to the end of the world.

    • Rahiel Lucas April 19, 2013 at 7:42 PM #

      I agree that the blockade was effective. Since there was a boundary drawn, there would have been justification if war was the only other option. Going to the United Nations was also a good idea.

  23. Rahiel Lucas April 19, 2013 at 7:41 PM #

    If I was in a situation with Cuba and the Soviets, just knowing myself, I would crack under pressure and go with the sergeant generals. We know now that holding off on war was the best decision, but with that deal of stress and pressure on one single person, its hard to try and determine that. That just goes to show that the person that Kennedy as a president was a strong individual.

  24. Anonymous April 23, 2013 at 12:52 AM #

    if i were kennedy i wouldve declared war and tried to defeat the ussr.
    marquis

  25. Alejandro h March 21, 2014 at 3:20 PM #

    I would have done the same things as Kennedy, the whole idea was to avoid a war and curtain distruction by nuclear war. But the orders of firing warning shots was extremely risky and I wouldn’t have have out those orders

  26. paola olivas March 21, 2014 at 3:32 PM #

    If I was JFK i would handle it the same way countries want the upper hand and russia took that from us

  27. Maria Sanchez March 21, 2014 at 3:54 PM #

    If I was in the place of John F. Kennedy I would’ve done the same thing.In my opinion he did the most peaceful way of handling the situation.No war.It might have been a very risky choice,but the blockade was the best way to go because it prevented a nuclear war.

  28. Brandy B March 21, 2014 at 3:57 PM #

    If I was Kennedy during the Cuban Missile Crisis I would have handled the situation with Cuba and the USSR the same. Just as Kennedy did, I would have sent the planes over Cuba to see how many missiles were located there to see what the United States was up against. I would also have wanted peace rather than starting a nuclear war that would have put many lives in danger.

  29. Teresa Enriquez March 21, 2014 at 4:00 PM #

    If I were Kennedy during the time of the Cuban missile crisis I would have done the same thing as Kennedy . I believe the blockade was an effective way to keep the United States out of war. Everything worked out at the end.He didn’t want to put his citizens in danger plus he didn’t he want to start a nuclear war.

  30. Aaron Nicholson March 21, 2014 at 4:06 PM #

    If I were president Kennedy I would have done the same thing that he had done. He did the smart thing by sending planes to see what the U.S was up against. That gave the U.S a good idea what they should do and how to defend if they were to have attacked. Violence is never the issue though. That what he wanted to prevent

  31. Ahjon W. March 21, 2014 at 4:09 PM #

    I would’ve handled just as JFK handled it. Reasons i would’ve done so is because i would be concerned about the missiles the Cubans had it would just prepare me for what will happen in the near future. I will increase my amount of weapons so i will destroy the Cubans and USSR.

  32. Abner Alvarez March 21, 2014 at 4:09 PM #

    If i was kennedy i feel like i would go into war with the ussr and bomb them as we have done with japan. Thats if we went to war if we have not i would not cause a nuclear war ethier.

  33. ryan swan March 21, 2014 at 4:12 PM #

    if i was president Kennedy i would have tried to talk my way out of the war but tried not to look like a little wimp about it. like if they would have attacked i would have fired anything and everything on them.

  34. Eunice Yeboah March 21, 2014 at 4:27 PM #

    If I was John F. Kennedy, i would have done the same thing of creating a blockade because it kept Soviet union from communicating with Cuba by using difficult means, and a close survelliance built of Cuba and its military buildup.Because at the ned of the day it brougfht about peace and prevented nuclear war

  35. Anonymous March 21, 2014 at 5:19 PM #

    If I was Kennedy during the Cuban Missile Crisis I would handle it just like Kennedy. I would have found out what Cuba had, and wanted to have peace rather then risking lives of many people.

  36. Daijah Morris March 21, 2014 at 5:23 PM #

    I would of handled the situation with Cuba and the USSR the exact same way John F Kennedy did. I believe that he made the right decision because peace was kept and the people were protected. If he had planned differently there may would have been another war and innocent lives would have ended.

  37. Godess Smith March 21, 2014 at 5:25 PM #

    In the case of the Cuban Missile Crisis if I was in the position that President Kennedy was in I Personally would’ve kind of did the same thing. Because it did end the crisis between the two, I just would’ve tried to do it sooner. But, if it came down to us not being able to I would’ve had bigger and more powerful weapons and shot at them first. But, that’s just me.

  38. Zoe Z. March 21, 2014 at 5:27 PM #

    If I were Kennedy during the Cuban Missile Crisis, I would do the same thing, I would tell them to take the weapons down and we would take our weapons down. If I took down the missiles first from Turkey, it would put my citizens in danger, and if the Soviet Union attacked, then our allies would fight against the Soviet Union and it would go into an all out war. I’d take things one step at a time.

  39. Mogtaba S. March 21, 2014 at 5:30 PM #

    I would have handled the situation the same way as President Kennedy. JFK looked at the situation to try and keep peace and to prevent another war. The blockade was a smart decision by JFK because it stopped Cuba and the USSR from being able to keep more powerful and more dangerous weapons from being brought into Cuba. The increase in surveillance of Cuba also helped the US because it showed what was needed in order to be prepared incase there was going to be a war. Kennedy wanted to keep the citizens safe and keep the peace and was successful in his efforts.

  40. Nicholas Horton March 21, 2014 at 5:35 PM #

    JFK and khruschev talked in secrecy. Russia agreed to take their missiles out of Cuba. The united states agreed to take missiles out of Turkey and Italy. They also agreed to never invade cuba

  41. Shekirah Marzett March 21, 2014 at 5:37 PM #

    During the Cuban Missile I would have handled the situation the same way Kennedy handled it.The Soviet Union already put it’s weapons on Cuban territory. By Kennedy keeping it a secret he prevented a nuclear war between two super power countries to cause a global disaster.

  42. Taylor Vaughn March 21, 2014 at 5:38 PM #

    If I were Kennedy in this situation I wouldn’t change the way he did it. Kennedy didn’t want a nuclear war, and so he thought that instead of fighting, talking it through could help. Everyone during the cold war knew the consequences, they knew they had everything to lose, and with that Kennedy tried his very best to stay away from the thought of war. He wanted to get out of the Cuban Missile Crisis as easily as possible.

  43. Nicholas Horton March 21, 2014 at 5:39 PM #

    i would have tried to settle it from the start. nuclear missiles being pointed at countries is very bad. It could have destroyed cities and so much land. I still would have but the blockade up just for the time being until it was settled.

  44. Juan Rodriguez March 21, 2014 at 5:40 PM #

    i would do the same thing JFK did if i was in the situation . i would to the fullest extant to keep the peace that i had to. if i was JFK i would have a nation to think about and not just my ways. i would do everything by the book and keep everything as safe as i possible can.

  45. Yudania-Marie Lattimore March 21, 2014 at 5:40 PM #

    If I were Kennedy I would have handled the situation with Cuba and the USSR the same way he did because not only did we keep our people safe by avoiding conflict, we kept the world safe from nuclear war. I think if nuclear attack had happened history would have a drastic change.

  46. Larissa Fernandez March 21, 2014 at 5:40 PM #

    I would do the same strategy as JFK and make a policy to remove any weapons from Cuba and have the USSR remove missiles and turn back their cargo ships to prevent nuclear war.

  47. Martin Rueda March 21, 2014 at 5:48 PM #

    If I was JFK i would have handled it the same because this way it was less of a risk for people to get hurt or for us to loose our solders so by doing this it would save us from having another big war so i would have handle the situation the same.

  48. Leticia March 21, 2014 at 5:49 PM #

    During the missile crisis if i was Kennedy, i would of handled the situation the same by removing our missiles and agreeing to not invad Cuba in order to keep peace and save lives of many.

  49. Armando Martinez March 21, 2014 at 5:52 PM #

    With the leadership, power, and influence that I had as president of the US I would first have to keep my cool. I would have to avoid making irrational decisions based on my emotions when deciding for a whole nation. Next I would have to think of the decision I am about to make and the likely and/or possible outcomes. Finally after reflecting about the possible choices and resulting consequences I would make whatever decision was necessary.

  50. Joshua Wright March 21, 2014 at 6:12 PM #

    If I were Kennedy, I would have handled the situation no differently because Kennedy did an excellent job with his decision making.

  51. Anonymous March 21, 2014 at 6:19 PM #

    If I were President Kennedy I would think of everyone’s safety and keep the peace in every country if it’s possible. I think he did the right decisions to prevent the delivery of offensive weapons to Cuba.

    • Anonymous March 21, 2014 at 6:20 PM #

      katia solano

  52. Clancy S. March 25, 2014 at 11:11 PM #

    If I was president Kennedy, well it would be an extremely tough decision and definitely top priority. Firstly evidence would be key so I would collect as much as I could by sending a swarm of U2’s on day one with daily fly throughs. With this data I would be certain of the amount of missiles contained and then next which is not what happened I would send pilots to disassemble turkey MRBM’s and replace them with IRBM’s possibly PGM-17 Thor named after the thunder god. Then finally set up more ICBM’s economically pending This would even the playing field a bit and a much more fair mutually assured destruction or MAD for short. At this point blockades would not be needed because in my opinion all we were trying to do was to become even with the enemy for whoever attacked first would ultimately decide the winner.

  53. Desmond H. March 29, 2014 at 5:38 AM #

    If I were JFK during the Cuban Missile Crisis I would most definitely handle things the same way he did. He made the right decision and knew he had to go the peaceful route. Any other way and a whole new war would erupt. He wanted to do everything he could to make sure the lives of all Americans were safe and did not want to put the stress of a war on America. He did the right thing by negotiating and not sending troops to Cuba/attacking the USSR. I don’t see how he could’ve handled the situation any better.

  54. Daliyah H April 7, 2014 at 12:22 AM #

    If I were JFK I would’ve handled the Cuban Missile Crisis the same way he handled it. I would have sent the planes over Cuba to see how many missiles there were just so the US was aware. JFK made a very peaceful decision. If he would’ve taken a more powerful way to handle the situation then it probably would’ve started something a little bigger. He just wanted to make sure that the live of the American people were safe.

  55. Elycia Torrez April 7, 2014 at 5:46 PM #

    If I were Kennedy in the time of the Cuban Missile Crisis, and I had to make a decision, I would probably go about it the same way he did. If i wanted to be a lil rebel though, I would do the opposite by getting everyone killed and start another war, but Kennedy’s decision basically saved the American people, and the world from another war. He kept the peace and everyone was safe in the end. 🙂

  56. Lensa G April 8, 2014 at 3:57 AM #

    If i was Kennedy i would have handle the situation the same way JFK did.it stop another war to happen again.The blockade was a smart decision by JFK because it stopped Cuba and the USSR from being able to keep more powerful and more dangerous weapons from being brought into Cuba.

Leave a Reply

