During the Cuban Missile Crisis: If you were Kennedy, how would you have handled the situation with Cuba and the USSR?

19 Mar
44 Responses to “During the Cuban Missile Crisis: If you were Kennedy, how would you have handled the situation with Cuba and the USSR?”

  1. Kaleb M March 19, 2012 at 6:44 PM #

    I probably would’ve done the samething, I feel what Kennedy did was the right decesion, the whole idea of creating a blockade was good, since it left Russia to communicate with Cuba, with other difficult methods.

    • samantha hansen March 22, 2012 at 1:46 AM #

      I definatlly agree, if Kennedy decided to bomb Cuba, not only would it have destroyed Cuba but it would of also started a WW3 wich in result would of had a death toll of millions of lives for both sides plus more economical troubles for both sides as well. The blockade also helped the president keep an eye on the missiles that were being sent in and out of Russia and what also helped the war is the admitting of the U-2 plane being flown over Russia to cheek for more missiles from Kennedy and him also aggreing to take the missiles away from Turkey in return that the russians take there missiles away from Cuba.

  2. Umed March 19, 2012 at 6:45 PM #

    I think what Kennedy did himself was a right thing to do. Other actions would have caused a big trouble. Therefore, I stick with Kennedy’s solution.

  3. LANDON ZERR March 19, 2012 at 6:48 PM #

    i would have probably handled it the same way as kennedy did or i would have threatened russia with war and they would have backed off being as they both were scared of nuclear war

    • jenniffer March 19, 2012 at 6:54 PM #

      Did u want a nuclear war to break out? Starting a war would of probably caused death for both nations.

      • Marissa Venegas March 20, 2012 at 2:03 AM #

        I think both the soviets and the U.S. were too afraid to really start anything directly anyways.

    • Mahamed Muhumed March 21, 2012 at 4:18 AM #

      war oh no i think the blockade safed a lot of people if nuclear war was to break out, both nations would been wiped out and other would of been in danger

    • Keynon Fisher March 22, 2012 at 1:41 AM #

      Landon In a way I agree with you, but not really because if we declared war on russia then Fedal Castro and khrushchev could of launched nucleour weapons on the United States! Leading to alot of innocent peoples deaths.

    • Evelyn H. March 22, 2012 at 2:38 AM #

      By threatening Russia, we would have started another war right away. Kennedy knew what he was doing to keep US safe from another World War. Most of the United States would have been destroyed in less than ten minutes if we threatened Russia.

    • Janet Dominguez March 22, 2012 at 3:06 AM #

      Well landon if you think the US should have threaten the Soviets they pretty much threaten the US too by allieing with Cuba so they would become communist and shoot bombs on the US but any how every one was scared of a nuclear war because the soviets were infact fearfull of the US because the US were the first to use and invent the bomb and the soviets wanted to feel powerfull just as how the US seemed to be.

  4. jenniffer March 19, 2012 at 6:50 PM #

    I would probably handle the situation just as Kennedy did. I would be very calm and corrigle. I would do everything in my power to make it peaceful. So another was would not start. Especially to make sure a nuclear war did not begin.

    • Bria Cammorto March 21, 2012 at 4:33 AM #

      Keeping calm is key to getting what you want, so I agree with you 100%

  5. Mukhtar March 19, 2012 at 6:52 PM #

    I would do exactly what president Kennedy do because his decision saved alot of lives from going into Nuculear war

  6. Marissa Venegas March 20, 2012 at 2:01 AM #

    If I were Kennedy, I probably would have done the same thing he did by using the blockade method. I think it sent the soviets a message and it was direct and indirect at the same time but the soviets knew not to cross the line.

  7. Berenice Gonzalez March 20, 2012 at 8:14 PM #

    If I were Kennedy I would’ve probably done the same thing. His idea in fact was a good one since it did not create a nuclear war. His direction during the whole thing was good and kept the whole thing under control. The idea of blockade was the perfect solution in my opinion, other method would have created bigger issues and the idea of having a nuclear war was scary.

  8. Abby G March 21, 2012 at 2:25 AM #

    What Kennedy did was a once in a lifetime chance. I think the only reason the locksde worked was because Kennedy was in office. He was well known and his character was outstanding so it was easier to communicate his concerns to the soviets. If I was Kennedy an had the same people and cabinet members on my team, I would have done the blockade as well. Although it was extremely risky an dangerous, it ultimately prevented the third world war from breaking out.

  9. Mahamed Muhumed March 21, 2012 at 4:05 AM #

    I think the choice JFK made was the right one because he was stoping Russia from cummunicating with cuba plus it was safe move and a war didnt break out.

  10. Bria Cammorto March 21, 2012 at 4:32 AM #

    If I were Kennedy I would have handled the situation the exact same way he did by using the blockade. In my opinion it saved a lot of people because if he didn’t do this, there would have been a nuclear war. Who knows what our lives would be like at this point, maybe we’d all be deformed without Kennedy’s decision of the blockade O_o.

  11. Tianna vigil March 21, 2012 at 2:48 PM #

    I would have done the same thing as Kennedy. Any other choice that he would have made, could have led to maybe a nuclear war. Which would have devisated both sides.

  12. Shamairy Espinell March 21, 2012 at 3:58 PM #

    During the Cuban Missile Crisis, Kennedy enforced a blockade on the SSR boats to stop them from transfering weapons to Cuba. If they passed the line, the US threatened to sink the boats, and the the soviets would attack and it would begin a nuclear war. Kennedy and Khruschev avoided this Crisis by coming to an agreement. Us demanded nuclear bases and wepons to be dismissed and in return the US dismissed their wepons in Turkey and Italy. If I were Kennedy, I would have dissmissed the nuclear bases DURING the cold war to prevent this from happening, but the thing is that nobody would come in terms with an agreement.

  13. Jordana March 21, 2012 at 5:18 PM #

    If I were Kennedy I would have done things in a slightly different manner. The blockade was a good idea, but his actions seemed slightly hypocritical. Not only did he freak out over missiles in Cuba after the US put missiles in Turkey, but American planes were flying over Cuba despite the fact that if foreign planes were flying over America, Kennedy wouldn’t accept that. Even though I agree with him respecting Khruschev’s requirements of removing the missiles, I think that never should have been there at all. All in all, however, I agree with his choices because there never turned out to be a disastrous war.

  14. Adam Creason March 22, 2012 at 1:37 AM #

    What Kennedy did was the right thing to do but if I was in that position I am unsure if I would have been able to do the same thing. The US people were angry with Cuba and Russia and were demanding immediate action be taken against Cuba and Russia and so were some of Kennedy’s advisers.

  15. Evelyn H. March 22, 2012 at 2:35 AM #

    What Kennedy did was the right thing. I would have done the same thing. I would have put a blockade around Cuba too showing we are not playing games with them. If Kennedy have made the first in anyway then there could have been WW3. Personally, in my eyes the blockade was the best thing to do.

  16. Janet Dominguez March 22, 2012 at 2:49 AM #

    If I were Kennedy I would handle the Cuban Missile Crisis just as how he handeled the situation I mean he made the right decision to go to NATO and ask for a blockade on the Marine Soviet ship because this didnt create chaos by the other option of an invasion. Hey, he did handle this very well because he even made a deal with Khruschev over a telegram.

  17. Jeff DeCoster March 22, 2012 at 12:46 PM #

    The Cuban Missile Crisis was the closest the world ever came to nuclear war. There fore I would have handled just as JFK, because he was the one who avoid it.

    • Edward Pinkhasov April 15, 2013 at 1:07 AM #

      i agree with jeff because if they would have started a nuclear war tons of people would have died.

  18. Diana O. March 22, 2012 at 1:17 PM #

    I agree with Kennedy’s decision on the cuban missile crisis. If president Kennedy would have done anything else, it would have escalated to a nuclear war

  19. Lady S. March 22, 2012 at 1:24 PM #

    I agree with Kennedys’ decision to blockade the Soviets was a smart and a safe bet because he sent them a message without using force or escalating the situation.

    • Regine March 23, 2012 at 5:10 PM #

      This was a very smart decision he made because on both ends, america and the soviets, we feared the initiation of a nuclear war.

  20. Vanessa Baker March 22, 2012 at 6:39 PM #

    I would have done the same thing that Kennedy did to prevent another world war. He sent the Soviets a warning without conflict and not making things worse. All Kennedy wanted to do was to keep his people safe.

  21. Ryan Whalen March 22, 2012 at 9:38 PM #

    I would’ve done what Kennedy did but whilst blocking the USSR ships i wouldve invaded cuba and seized the missles. I think it wouldve been a much safe route to take for Americas sake.

    • Christa Cooks April 13, 2013 at 6:36 PM #

      I think that if we invaded Cuba it would have been a welcoming for a war because we crossed over into their lines to seize their property, even if it was for a good cause.

  22. Anonymous March 23, 2012 at 5:09 PM #

    During the Cuban Missile crisis, if I were Kennedy, I would have certainly did the exact same thing he did. Any other plan or strategy would have resulted in a war with the Soviets. The only way going to war with them would have been a smart decision, would be if they had no nuclear weapons. This would have made the Soviets back down because we would of had an advantage. Kennedy’s decision was smart and strategic because he kept America’s safety into consideration, which is considerably the best decision myself or he could make.

  23. Regine March 23, 2012 at 5:09 PM #

    During the Cuban Missile crisis, if I were Kennedy, I would have certainly did the exact same thing he did. Any other plan or strategy would have resulted in a war with the Soviets. The only way going to war with them would have been a smart decision, would be if they had no nuclear weapons. This would have made the Soviets back down because we would of had an advantage. Kennedy’s decision was smart and strategic because he kept America’s safety into consideration, which is considerably the best decision myself or he could make.

  24. aidan johnson April 8, 2013 at 2:42 PM #

    I agree with JFK but i also would have taken out the bombs from turkey so they would take bombs out of Cuba

    • Alyssa Rock April 10, 2013 at 12:25 AM #

      I would not have taken the bombs out of Turkey though. Because if the USSR had decided to not follow the UN rules and launch a missle on the US, we would be so close to them that we could launch a missle right back.

  25. Hana Mekonnen April 8, 2013 at 10:52 PM #

    I probably would have done the same thing Kennedy did because anything else would have lead to a nuclear war. No body wants to be at fault or be responsible for the lives of millions of people deaths, I think what he did was good.

  26. lydia April 9, 2013 at 11:29 PM #

    I guess if I were to be JFK I wouldn’t have done anything different from what he did.He made the right decision and it kept innocent lifes alive……

  27. Alyssa Rock April 10, 2013 at 12:23 AM #

    If I were in Kennedys shoes I would have done the same excat thing he did. If he hadnt got the UN invloved im pretty sure that the USSR and Cuba would have pressed the button and launched an attack on America. If they had then Im pretty sure we would of gone into WWIII. So Kennedys actions were right and maybe saved many lives. So I would agree with Kennedy.

  28. Christa Cooks April 13, 2013 at 6:33 PM #

    If I was President Kennedy during the Cuban Missle Crisis I would have reacted the same way he did. I say this because I believe it is and would have been best not only to do what is right for myself as a human and a learder, but also for the United States and her citizens. If I was President and I decided to fire on Cuba it would have been very selfish of me because I would have been acting on instincts and feelings rather than the reality and truth of the situation and many innocent lives would have been ended.

  29. EDWARD PINKHASOV April 15, 2013 at 2:59 PM #

    I think that JFK did the right thing. If he would have started a war there would have been ww3 with nuclear weapons now. It was better to avoid it because who knows what would have happened if those nuclear weapons would have been fired

  30. Hanna April 16, 2013 at 5:30 AM #

    I would have done the same thing.Kennedy took the time to confirm and complete the evaluation of the evidence.Each of these missiles, in short, is capable of striking Washington, D. C., the Panama Canal, Cape Canaveral, Mexico City, or any other city in the southeastern part of the United States, in Central America, or in the Caribbean area. He avoided going in to war and and found other ways of resolving the issue by involving the UN to get permission for the blockade.

  31. Aaryonna Jones March 21, 2014 at 3:54 PM #

    If I was Pres Kennedy, I would do the same procedure as he did. I believe what Kennedy did was right. If he would have lead with the releasing of another atomic bomb, this time on Cuba, it would have caused way more confrontation than ti originally began with. I think it also shows that Kennedy; who is representing the U.S, that were not all about wars and constant confrontation, and that there can be stability in a tough situation.

  32. Rocio A. March 21, 2014 at 4:02 PM #

    I honestly would have done worse I would have handled the situation differently by invading Cuba just to figure out what happened and why they agreed but apart from that i would try to avoid any conflict.

Leave a Reply

