What if it were to happen tomorrow?

30 Jan

How would you feel about internment camps if Pearl Harbor were to happen tomorrow?

70 Responses to “What if it were to happen tomorrow?”

  1. michael norris January 30, 2012 at 7:47 PM #

    I think that the camps would be essentially useless, as espionage isn’t really that much of a threat in today’s society.
    also, Americans are very homogenized, so it would be exponentially more difficult do corrall everyone of a certain race.

    • Pano January 31, 2012 at 3:24 PM #

      I believe that since America is so diverse, internment camps will be difficult and useless. Now in modern days there is a larger population in Japanese so if their were to be an attack and America wanted internment camps it will be very difficult to gather all of those people. Also America is very diverse, we have cultures from all over the world. It would be very disrepectful to the Japanese and to other races to put people in internment camps.

      • Adam January 31, 2012 at 3:35 PM #

        I agree it would be almost impossible to gather all the people of a single culture and put them in camps.

    • Taren November 7, 2012 at 5:04 PM #

      Taren Williams- If this were to happen tomorrow, i would be with my family in try to go to a place were we would all be safe.

  2. tannore January 30, 2012 at 7:47 PM #

    well i would be kinda mad and truthfuly i would want to do the same thing that happened but just do it nicer than what we did back then

    • michael norris January 30, 2012 at 7:50 PM #

      I think that the logistics of it would be prohibitive. So many mixed-race people would make it so that you would need to confine many more people.

    • De'Mornai Rollins January 31, 2012 at 3:32 PM #

      I agree. I would want to be safe but also not put any other people in harms way

  3. Umed January 30, 2012 at 7:47 PM #

    Depends, if it were still the Japanese who’d attack Pearl Harbor, I wouldn’t worry about it, as long as it doesn’t harm me or any people who are close to me. But if my country attacked Pearl Harbor, I’d be against internment camps, because I don’t want to go through what the Japanese went through.

    • Kylini January 30, 2012 at 7:51 PM #

      isnt that kinda selfish? -Kyle

      • Umed January 30, 2012 at 7:53 PM #

        Yes it is…

  4. Charlie January 30, 2012 at 7:47 PM #

    I believe that there is a good reason to have Internment camps but to have better conditions for the people who are put there.

    • michael norris January 30, 2012 at 7:53 PM #

      I disagree, i think that internment camps are morally wrong and constitutionally illegal,

      • Jalyn Thomas January 31, 2012 at 3:22 PM #

        I totally agree becuase its wrong to treat a human being that way and it is illegal to put people in internment camps especially after what happened in the past.

    • Umed January 30, 2012 at 7:55 PM #

      Knowing the fact that there WERE found couple of spies during the internment camps, I think it’s best we do make Internment camps. Of course with better conditions.

    • LaShonda February 1, 2012 at 4:24 PM #

      Yeah i agree with you. I think the better conditions they have to Live there the less ppl would see it as a bad thing

  5. Toniesha Lighthall January 30, 2012 at 7:48 PM #

    I would feel that it would be unnecesary considering how diverse and equal the U.S. is today.

    • LaShonda January 30, 2012 at 7:49 PM #

      I agree with you I dont feel it would happen now of days

    • Jenniffer January 30, 2012 at 7:57 PM #

      True, but what if there are spies that threated us in our own country?

      • De'Mornai Rollins January 31, 2012 at 3:26 PM #

        Thats a very good point.

  6. LaShonda January 30, 2012 at 7:48 PM #

    I would be scared and shock I don’t think anyone would be reday to deal with it

    • De'Mornai Rollins January 31, 2012 at 3:29 PM #

      your right it would be very difficult. When your in a situation as difficult as this you would really need to dig down deep and overcome your trials and tribulations.

  7. Kylini January 30, 2012 at 7:49 PM #

    Kyle- Honestly, I would think internment camps would be unfair and morally wrong in today’s society. America has progressed to a point where race is no longer an issue since the civil rights movement. I personally think internment camps were America being young a niave

    • Ryan W. February 1, 2012 at 6:25 PM #

      Yeah I agree with you Kyle especially since everyone accepts everyone for who they are. (except racism groups) the government would deffenantly have a hard time with trying too put internment camps into effect. With all the pro coexist group there are today. I think it would have to a horrible attack for the general population to agree with internment camps.

  8. Landon Zerr January 30, 2012 at 7:49 PM #

    i would probably be for and against internment camps. however i would probably more for because it would help the people more than it would hurt them and it would help the government and it would help protect the people

  9. Kaleb M January 30, 2012 at 7:49 PM #

    If this were today I think most people wouldn’t agree with doing that. Many would probably feel as it would be racial profiling. But as for me I think that this would be the wrong thing to do. In such a time when people are becoming more outspoken without any consequences, people would probably revolt, and cause more harm than needed.

  10. Anthony Childs January 30, 2012 at 7:49 PM #

    I would obviously be surprised. And scared, i would become a soldier though lol.

    • Keynon Fisher January 31, 2012 at 3:29 PM #

      Yes I have to agree, I would be scared but I would also become a soldier because I am very patriotic. I think that people fighting for there country repesents America as the country everybody knows it to be.

  11. Regine January 30, 2012 at 7:50 PM #

    If pearl harbor were to happen tomorrow and the people were to be put in internment camps, i feel like it would be more of a fight. People now a days fight for what it right so, I would feel like it wouldn’t last long.

  12. Ryan W. January 30, 2012 at 7:50 PM #

    If a Peral Harbor type attack happened today and interment camps were put into place. I wouldnt be offended in anyway even if my race was to be put into interment i would have no problem with it. it would be for my saftey and the countries saftey. I have nothing to hide so it wouldnt bother me a bit but if my stuff was lost i wouldnt be a happy camper afterwords.

    • tannore January 30, 2012 at 7:54 PM #

      ahahaha happy camper lol ok but yes ryan i agree with you i have nothing to hide

    • Landon Zerr January 30, 2012 at 7:56 PM #

      i agree with ryan because if you look at it the american people would become very bias against the people who attacked and it would protect them as well as the country and i had to reply this instead of comment

    • Abby G January 31, 2012 at 3:30 PM #

      How could you not be offended? If your government singled your race out of everyone,segregated you from your country, and then treated you like a criminal? It’s stereotyping at its finest. Basically like assuming all Muslims are terrorists.

  13. Anonymous January 30, 2012 at 7:52 PM #

    I would feel more prepared because I know what happened in the internment camps in the past. I would also feel targeted.. I would be so in a daze, I wouldn’t know what to do honestly. Would it just be blacks, just whites, just hispanics? Either way, races would be targeted for a reason that is unknown.

  14. Anonymous January 30, 2012 at 7:52 PM #

    Internment camps are bad

  15. Mukhtar H. January 30, 2012 at 7:53 PM #

    By this generation & this far in our life time we should know that we shouldn’t judge and seperate or segregate any group of people.

    • Jenniffer January 30, 2012 at 7:55 PM #

      What if is wasnt toward race it was toward religion? It was a policy just to keep spies and threats away from our country.

      • Kaleb M February 1, 2012 at 1:28 AM #

        Ok but that’s still religiously profiling, a group of people. And for what? Because some people with the same religion caused destruction. So does that mean everyone that’s muslim is in Al Qaeda? Or anyone who’s protestant in the KKK?

        You can’t just say, “Your people are bad. You go to jail now.”

        There has to be some thought process at least to be considered before doing something as extreme like that.

  16. Jenniffer January 30, 2012 at 7:53 PM #

    As long as, people were PROPERLY cared for this time. As well as, treated with proper respect. i would even go into the camps myself if i had to, to keep America safe.I would feel fine with internment camps if they happened tommarrow.

    • Jordana January 31, 2012 at 3:17 PM #

      I agree with the camps being properly cared for, but despite that I still wouldn’t be fine if they happened tomorrow because people are going to have to leave and separate from their home and those around them.

  17. Marissa Venegas January 30, 2012 at 7:53 PM #

    If pearl harbor were to happen tomorrow and people were put in internment camps I would feel bad because I know a wide range of people and i would notice they were gone. I would also be mad because if there are good people being put in there i would feel like the government is full of idiots if they can not recognize who is innocent or not.

  18. Bria January 30, 2012 at 7:53 PM #

    I would feel more prepared because I know what happened in the internment camps in the past. I would also feel targeted.. I would be so in a daze, I wouldn’t know what to do honestly. Would it just be blacks, just whites, just hispanics? Either way, races would be targeted for a reason that is unknown.

    • Shamairy Espinell January 30, 2012 at 7:55 PM #

      Yes, I think racism would be involved somehow.

  19. Shamairy Espinell January 30, 2012 at 7:54 PM #

    If Pearl Harbor where to happen tomorrow I would freak out! My first thought would be to get out of the country with my family ASAP. If that wern’t an option, I would preapre myself and my family,both physicaly and mentaly for what would come next because I already know what happened on December 7th,1941.

  20. Landon Zerr January 30, 2012 at 7:54 PM #

    i agree with ryan because if you look at it the american people would become very bias against the people who attacked and it would protect them as well as the country

  21. Shamairy Espinell January 30, 2012 at 7:56 PM #

    I wonder if racism where to begin, what would happen? Would white be treated better in the Internment camps or would everybody be treated the same?

    • Mahamed January 31, 2012 at 3:48 AM #

      shamairy i dont think everyone would be treated the same i think one race or multible races would be picked, but it depends on what race at that time is hated or look down upon.

  22. Mahamed January 31, 2012 at 3:33 AM #

    if internment camps happens again i would be aware of it and prepared for it. And be very shocked because of how our society haven’t change their mind set of other American citizens that are from different parts of the world, but call the U.S home

  23. Jordana January 31, 2012 at 3:16 PM #

    Internment camps still wouldn’t be fair to me. I’m friends with a lot of people from different races and culture so there’s a big chance that either myself or one of my friends would have to leave. 😦

  24. jade baez January 31, 2012 at 3:21 PM #

    i would be scared that i might not be able to see some friends ever again because alot of people left and never went back to the same towns. also i would be a little worried because they never really took good care of the people inside the camps. but putting both of those aside, i would be okay because truthfully they are just trying to protect people.

  25. Jackie R. January 31, 2012 at 3:21 PM #

    If internment camps were to happen tomorrow, i would try to be prepared for it as soon as possible. Of course no one can stay calm in a situation like this, but we could try to accept it and get through it. This would be shocking for anyone, especially if the camps are targeting a certain race, and you happen to be that race.Internment camps are nothing fun no one would ever want to hear about them ever being around. hopefully we never have to experience something like internment camps

  26. Marissa Salas January 31, 2012 at 3:21 PM #

    I think it would be scary if this was to happen all over again. I don’t think internment camps would happen again because people would protest against it.

  27. De'Mornai Rollins January 31, 2012 at 3:22 PM #

    How long do you think it would take you to adjust to living in an internment camp? What trials would you face and how would you over come them?

  28. Abby G January 31, 2012 at 3:22 PM #

    If Internment Camps were to happen tomorrow, I think that a lot of people would protest the decision. It didn’t seem constitutionally right to have internment camps and they were only allowed to happen due to Executive Orders. Currently we haven’t declared war on anyone so the orders wouldn’t stand. I would be angry at the government if they did internment camps again. People are more vocal now so it wouldn’t work out so well for the government.

  29. Jeff DeCoster January 31, 2012 at 3:23 PM #

    If internment camps were to happen again, I would prepare for it. It would be very surprising seeing America do this and how the U.S. haven’t changed thier ethos towards other citizens from around the world that live in the United States, and call what we call home.

  30. Daniel R January 31, 2012 at 3:24 PM #

    I think it would be weird, and lots of people would be shocked because we haven’t dealt with a problem like this in a long time, and for the government to just all of a sudden do it would be traumatizing. There would also be more internment camps because the population over the past few decades have dramatically increased.

  31. Janet Dominguez January 31, 2012 at 3:25 PM #

    If Pearl were to happen and the interment camps were to happen I wouldnt be offended it is true its only for safty reasons and if the country that i am living in wants to do this than i wont try to resist because i wouldnt want to rebel against the country im living in i know for sure my people would be offended and take this as a discrimination and flee when its only making the situation worse because the country would think your some type of spy and take some precautions.

  32. Adam January 31, 2012 at 3:26 PM #

    I would be mad at the people who attacked but punishing US citizens who are had nothing to do with it is a bad idea. I feel that punishing an entire race of people is unfair because putting US citizens in internment camps would be taking away their rights as citizens and many people who are of different backgrounds and live in the US have never left it’s borders.

  33. Christian SWAGTASTIC January 31, 2012 at 3:27 PM #

    Internments camps wouldn’t be necessary in my opinion in a technology based world that we leave in. The government could easily keeps tabs on the people they blieve could be a threat if we were to enter another war. We could also deport some of these people but with reasoning more than they are the same race we’re fighting against.

  34. Berenice January 31, 2012 at 3:27 PM #

    In my opinion if Interment camps were to happend tomorrow in a way it would be good because the people would be safe from others who might want to do something to them but it would be frustating and sad being taken away from your own home to go live somewhere where you would be issolated from the rest of the world and it would be not only for a week but for years, I would prefer leaving to my own country than stay here.

  35. Anonymous January 31, 2012 at 3:27 PM #

    If internment camps were to happen again i would be so angry. I’d be getting put some where for doing nothing. So what if your bro gets killed, not my fault. It wasn’t my idea. just saying.

  36. David K. January 31, 2012 at 3:28 PM #

    I think i would be mad and want to do the same thing they did, but it would be imposable since everyone has a little of every race in them in todays society.

  37. Pal W. January 31, 2012 at 3:29 PM #

    If internment camps were to happen again i would be so angry. I’d be getting put some where for doing nothing. So what if your bro gets killed, not my fault. It wasn’t my idea. just saying.

  38. Evelyn H. January 31, 2012 at 3:30 PM #

    I believe if Pearl Harbor was to happen tomorrow, I still believe no one will be fully prepared. Especially with the technology we have now, no one will be prepared such a thing. To put people in interment camps is such a horrible thing to do to, especially to innocent people who have no idea what is going on with their own race. Even though they are citizens to the U.S other races will be furious and can cause harm to the race that caused Pearl Harbor and the safest thing to do would be to put them in interment camps. I would hate to be put in camps especially when I have no idea.

  39. ;Diana January 31, 2012 at 3:30 PM #

    I believe the internment camps were cruel and unnecessary. They took innocent Japanese and treated them like prisoners. They took away their rights and made life very difficult for them. I would be very mad if it were to happen today, to any race!!

  40. Vanessa B. January 31, 2012 at 3:32 PM #

    If pearl harbor would happen tomorrow and interment camps would start again. I dont think it would be a bad thing but it would be more difficult. Since many people are more diverse and we would have to put more people in the camps that dont have to be there. Also many Japanese-Americans might protest there way out and not go into any interment camps. But these internment camps were not suppose to be a bad thing, but a safe place were people can stay. They are U.S citzens who have there own rights and were born here. So they should have a say in what a camp or their protection should look like.

  41. Giavani January 31, 2012 at 3:35 PM #

    If pearl harbor were to happen tomorrow racism would come back up. I think camps would be helpful if everybody was treated equally and if we were able to survive. If Camps would keep use safe then im down for it other wise we would have some problems.

  42. Anonymous Lady January 31, 2012 at 3:38 PM #

    If Pearl Harbor were to happen tomorrow i would not be ready for it at all. I would be scared but at the same time why should I be scared? I bet If we were to have Internment camps it would be better than the first internment camps. There is a good point of having one but if we already did a research on each and every person then we should release them instead of keeping them in the same place.

  43. Marguerite January 31, 2012 at 3:40 PM #

    If a Pearl Harbor attack were to happen tommrow I would want to take my family out of the country as soon as possible. We would never have enough time to pack our belongings. If we were unable to escape, i would feel targeted and i dont think i would be abl to survive.

  44. tonieshalighthall February 1, 2012 at 6:56 PM #

    For umed … does it really matter who attaks and what they attak??
    I think it jus mateers. Why they attack and that they see us as a threat.

  45. Eunice Yeboah February 20, 2014 at 9:05 PM #

    I believe that it won’t happen again because it will be inhuman, and go against the US constitution especially the third amendment that states that “no soldier in time of peace shall be quartered to any house without the consent of the owner, nor in time of war”

Leave a Reply

